Model UN wins awards at conference


The CSUN Model United Nations Delegation won an Outstanding Delegation Award and an Outstanding Position Papers Award representing Iceland at the National Model UN conference in New York City in late March. The Outstanding Delegation Award is equivalent to first place. NMUN is the largest Model UN Conference in the world with more than 270 colleges and universities from nearly every continent attending. The CSUN Delegation was in the top 5 percent. The twelve students who participated in the conference were Sara Barrett, Giovanni Batz, Danae Busby, Samantha Carnell, Malte Humpert, Tim Lovestedt, Aaron Montan, Lilly Mucsi, Jesse Petersen, Justin Robertson, Justin Seuthe and Igor Kagan, who also served as Head Delegate. The organization’s faculty adviser is political science professor Dr. Peter Kappas.