A.S. Finance faces major leadership changes in 2007-08

Hilda Yeghishian

Associated Students Director of Finance Adam Haverstock, along with the A.S. finance committee’s assistant director and two board members, will be leaving the committee at the end of this fiscal year.

Haverstock, who has been elected A.S. president for next year, and his current assistant director of finance, Josh Hansen, who has been elected vice president, will be assuming their respective positions near the end of this semester. A.S. finance committee members Taiba Kator and Lyla Askejian have been elected A.S. senators and will be leaving the committee as well.

Other than discussing next year’s possible leadership changes, the committee heard funding requests from various clubs and organizations on Monday.

The committee recommended an allocation of $150 for the Communication Association. The money will help fund an upcoming faculty and student softball game.

“We are trying to reach out to the students who are freshmen and sophomores who don’t really have a niche, maybe give them a place to grow, like kids in college are supposed to,” said Ian Cowan, president of the communication association.

The Black Graduation Celebration was recommended $1,837. There will be 245 graduates and the committee allocates $7.50 per student, as stated in their budget’s language.

The committee recommended $600 to fund a retreat where Sigma Lambda Gamma will develop leadership and goal-setting skills, professionalism and etiquette, and will participate in values seminars.

Two students from the Cinema, Television and Arts Department were recommended the standard $400 each from the Academically Related Reserves Account for their internship opportunity in Cannes, France for the Cannes Film Festival.