Associated Students Presidential Election Results


Courtesy of AS

Miguel Gonzalez, Reporter

Project R.E.D candidates Rose Merida and Deion Joseph Turner have been elected the Associated Students president and vice president for the 2020-2021 academic year.

“Overall, Deion and I are excited and blessed to be given this opportunity to impact our campus for the better,” president-elect Merida said. “It is crucial, now more than ever, to really listen to the students concerns and be advocates in positions of power.”

“It doesn’t even feel real, truly. I’m blessed and full of gratitude that I have this opportunity to serve students,” vice president-elect Turner said.

Their victory was announced by AS Chair of Elections Marvin Chowdhury during a livestream on Thursday night. Chowdhury also announced election results for the AS senate and the University Student Union Board of Directors that are listed below.

USU Board of Directors election results

Stephanie Barboza (Project R.E.D.)
Ryan Edwards (Project R.E.D.)
Albert Martinez
H Landeros
Deion Turner (Project R.E.D.)

AS Senate election results

Upper Division Senators
Tiffany Abodoh (Project R.E.D.)
Samuel Suard (Matadors Empowered)
Lower Division Senators
Jordan Franco (Matadors Empowered)
Isabella O’Brien (New Beginnings)
Senators for Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, & Communication
Bryan Jay Stringer (Project R.E.D.)
Liseth Ceja (New Beginnings)
Senators for David Nazarian College of Business & Economic
Derek Mitsuuchi (Project R.E.D.)
Jonathan Hay (Matadors Empowered)
Senators The Michael D. Eisner College of Education
Isabella Rizzo (Project R.E.D)
Senators for College of Engineering & Computer Science
Kavya Dhysani (Matadors Empowered)
Zachary Schimke (Matadors Empowered)
Senators for College of Health & Human Development
Jalani Ligons (Project R.E.D.)
Denise Nguyen (Matadors Empowered)
Senators for College of Humanities
Adriana Coronado (Project R.E.D.)
Michael Meeks (New Beginnings)
Senators for College of Science & Mathematics
Nolan Dafesh (Matadors Empowered)
Dulce Hernandez (Matadors Empowered)
Senators for College of Social & Behavioral Senators
Sarah Reyes (Project R.E.D.)
Miya Butler (Project R.E.D.)
Graduate Senators
Dani Brown (Matadors Empowered)
Carina Alvarado Alcala from (Project R.E.D.)