The student media organization of California State University Northridge

Daily Sundial

The student media organization of California State University Northridge

Daily Sundial

The student media organization of California State University Northridge

Daily Sundial

Got a tip? Have something you need to tell us? Contact us

Loading Recent Classifieds...

Spring 2024 USU and Associated Students election results

Students walking past the SOL Center at the USU in Northridge, Calif., on Tuesday, April 30, 2024

After about two weeks, the spring 2024 University Student Union (USU) Board of Directors election has been decided for the 2024-2025 academic year. Four CSUN students have been elected to serve their two-year term in the student government until June 2026.

Associated Students (AS) elections were also held this semester.

Students could vote online from April 9 to April 11 or in-person at the Campus Student Store, Cleary Walk, Library Lawn and Plaza del Sol from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The USU Board of Directors is a team of students who make important contributions to the campus and are responsible for the Student Recreation Center, the Pride Center, the Oasis Wellness Center, the Veterans Resource Center, and the DREAM Center.

The positions on the board will go into effect after a transition ceremony that will take place on June 10. The students selected for these positions are Leof Chou with 418 votes, Mishell De Leon with 416 votes, Ricky Rosado with 311 votes, and Vyom Pathak with 247 votes.

As stated on CSUN’s 2024 BOD elections page, Chou has held leadership positions before and aims to provide more sustainable and eco-friendly options that are accessible to CSUN students. He also wants to encourage an environment that is respectful and equitable. De Leon is dedicated to making sure there are more education opportunities available for students, and that students are learning in nurturing and supporting environments.

Rosado wants to make policies for USU organizations that are practical and manageable and create more opportunities for students. Pathak’s objective is to create compelling policies that adhere to the student body’s aim of creating a campus that has more diversity and inclusion.

Katie Karroum and Iman Khan (Key to the Matador) were elected AS president and vice president with 1,094 votes.

Brandon Arenson (Key to the Matador) was elected as the Upper Division Senator, while Trin Nantawannakul and Haruyuki Miyoshi (Key to the Matador) are the Lower Division Senators.
Ella Perez (Key to the Matador) and Issac Gavino (Independent) are the Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, and Communication Senators.
Peter Radionov (Independent) and Benjamin Tran (Key to the Matador) are the David Nazarian College of Business and Economics Senators.
The Michael D. Eisner College of Education Senator is Bella Pulliam (Key to the Matador), while the College of Engineering and Computer Science Senators are Jonathan Sher and Naveed Shirzadi (Independent).
The College of Health and Human Development Senator is Ryan Dang (Key to the Matador).
The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Senator is Joselyn Harris (Key to the Matador).
Keiry Saravia and Hanna Davis (Key to the Matador) have been selected as the College of Humanities Senators.
There were no candidates for the positions of College of Science and Mathematics Senator or Graduate Senator.

More to Discover